ITIL® Lifecycle Module: SD – Service Design

quintLogo DGERT


ITIL® 2011 edition is comprised of five core publications: Service Strategy, Service Design, Service Transition, Service Operations and Continual Service Improvement, promoting alignment with the business as well as improving operational efficiency. The official ITIL® qualification scheme describes two streams, the Service Lifecycle Stream and the Service Capability stream.

The Service Lifecycle stream focuses on ITIL practices within the Service Lifecycle context. The prime focus is the Lifecycle itself as well as the use of process and practice elements used within it.

The Service Capability stream is for those who wish to obtain an in depth understanding of ITIL processes and roles. Attention to the Service Lifecycle is illustrated as part of the curriculum but the primary focus is the on the process activities, execution and use throughout the Service Lifecycle.

The ITIL® SD (Service Design) course is part of the ITIL® Intermediate Lifecycle certification stream. The course prepares candidates to take the ITIL® Service Design Intermediate exam as well as proving valuable knowledge that can be implemented in the workplace.

Upon successfully achieving the ITIL Service Design certificate, students earn 3 credits in the ITIL® qualification scheme.


CIOs, CTOs, managers, supervisory staff, team leaders, designers, architects, planners, IT consultants, IT audit managers and IT security managers who require a detailed understanding of the ITIL Service Design phase of the Lifecycle and the affected processes, functions and activities and their application


  • Service Design principles and service composition
  • Activities and techniques within Requirements Engineering
  • Functional roles analysis and use of the RACI matrix
  • The types of tools that would benefit Service Design
  • Activities and techniques associated with Application Management
  • Designing supporting systems, especially the Service Portfolio
  • Business Service Management (BSM) and Service Oriented Architecture (SOA) principles


An ITIL Foundation certificate and preferably two years work experience in an IT Service Management environment.


Participants will learn the principles and core elements along with the activities and technology & implementation considerations within the Service Design stage of the Service Lifecycle. This lifecycle stage focuses on enabling Service Delivery by designing services in-line with the Service Strategy. An interactive approach is used combining lecture, discussion and case study experience to prepare participants for the ITIL Intermediate Service Design certification exam as well as providing valuable practical knowledge that can be rapidly applied in the workplace. Quint Wellington Redwood’s integrated case study deepens the participant’s appreciation of how ITIL best practices can be applied in order to improve IT performance. Practical assignments are used throughout the course to enhance the learning experience.

  • Introduction to service design
  • Service design principles
  • Service design processes
  • Service design technology-related activities
  • Organising for service design
  • Technology considerations
  • Implementation and improvement of service design
  • Challenges, critical success factors and risks


  • Quint
  • Axelos


ITIL® Lifecycle Module: SD – Service Design

  • Nº Horas
  • Preço
    Sob Consulta


  • ITIL® Foundation 2011 with Case Study

    O modelo de certificação ITIL® é estruturado para que seja possível para um profissional desenvolver uma carreira completa em gestão de serviços de TI (GSTI/ITSM). Porém, para a grande maioria dos profissionais, basta o nível Foundation para que obtenha os conhecimentos e noções necessários para a manutenção e melhoria dos processos de TI de uma empresa.